Quantcast
Monday, October 24th, 2005

Drip Drop Teardrop

Bits and pieces today. Drips and drabs.

With the release of The Cardigans’ Super Extra Gravity in Europe last week, the press is starting to descend on the band for features, interviews, etc. Here’s some of the first salvo – pieces from The Independent, Gigwise and Contact Music. There’s also a radio session with XFM up for your streaming pleasure. Last I checked, the record was still due for a Canadian release tomorrow, but I suspect it’ll be more like a couple weeks before actual copies start showing up in shops. Oh, Said The Gramophone has another track from the new album available to download.

Wilco have put up a 4-song preview of Kicking Television in their Roadcase. The full double-album will be in stores November 15.

Harp makes sweet sweet interview love to Sigur Ros.

Metromix declares Arcade Fire “rookie of the year”. Win Butler accepts the award by phone.

Toronto Life interviews the man behind the curtain for Broken Social Scene – producer Dave Newfeld. The Boston Globe settles for the Great and Powerful Oz – ak Kevin Drew.

Colin Meloy of The Decemberists confesses to The Daily Nebraskan that he’s downloaded leaked records before, even though he asked that anyone who had a leaked copy of Picaresque before its release earlier this year to not post it online.

I stopped in at the release party for the new Fall issue of Shameless magazine yesterday afternoon and caught performances by Republic Of Safety and Couger Party. Neither act was really my thing, but that doesn’t mean I didn’t take pictures. Just a few, though.

With the release of The Complete Calvin & Hobbes, the Associated Press takes a stab at tracking down Bill Watterson. With little success. I saw the three-volume hardbound set in a store the other day – it looked absolutely gorgeous.

Oh yeah, check this out:


My blog is worth $184,604.58.
How much is your blog worth?

SELL! SELLLLL!!!!

np – Okkervil River / Black Sheep Boy

By : Frank Yang at 8:57 am
Category: Uncategorized
RSS Feed for this postNo Responses.
  1. david says:

    LHB is worth $302,593.44? I’m writintg the eBay listing this morning…

  2. lucaswiththelidoff says:

    I’ve been listening to "First Band on the Moon" recently and quite enjoying it. Anything else in their discography that stands out?

  3. BSS says:

    I saw Broken Social Scene in Montreal. Wow!!

    They are the best indie-rock band since Pavement.

    SETLIST:

    Cause = Time

    Ibi Dreams of Pavement

    7/4 (Shoreline)

    Superconnected

    Fuzz = Late 90’s Bedroom Rock

    Shampoo Suicide

    Hotel

    Stars & Sons

    Major Label Debut

    Fire Eye’d Boy

    Almost Crimes

    Anthems for a 17 Year Old Girl

    Lover’s Spit

    ENCORE

    Bandwitch

    KC Accidental

    It’s All Gonna Break

  4. jorge says:

    What a beautiful song that one from Okkervil River! (I love the whole album)

  5. matthew says:

    Speaking of BSS, a quick plug: I’m giving away their new album on my site this week.

  6. BSS says:

    Broken Social Scene is a must-see live band.

    TOUR DATES

    Wed 10/26/05 Washington, DC 9:30 Club

    Thu 10/27/05 Detroit, MI Majestic Theatre

    Fri 10/28/05 Chicago, IL Metro / Smart Bar

    Sat 10/29/05 Minneapolis, MN First Avenue

    Mon 10/31/05 Lawrence, KS Granada Theatre

    Tue 11/01/05 Boulder, CO Boulder Theater

    Thu 11/03/05 Austin, TX Stubb’s Barbeque

    Fri 11/04/05 Dallas, TX Gypsy Tea Room / Ballroom

    Mon 11/07/05 Los Angeles, CA Music Box @ Fonda

    Tue 11/08/05 Los Angeles, CA Music Box @ Fonda

    Wed 11/09/05 San Francisco, CA The Grand Ballroom @ Regency Center

    Fri 11/11/05 Portland, OR Roseland Theater

    Sat 11/12/05 Seattle, WA Showbox

    Sun 11/13/05 Vancouver, BC Commodore Ballroom

    Tue 11/15/05 Calgary, AB MacEwan Hall

    Thu 11/17/05 Edmonton, AB Red’s

    Fri 11/18/05 Saskatoon, SK Amigos Cantina

    Sat 11/19/05 Winnipeg, MB Le Rendezvous

    Tue 11/29/05 London, UK Barfly

    Thu 12/01/05 Vienna, AUT Szene

    Fri 12/02/05 Fribourg, SWI Fri-Son

    Sat 12/03/05 Munich, GER Feierwerk

    Mon 12/05/05 Berlin, GER Postbanhof Berlin

    Tue 12/06/05 Copenhagen, DEN Loppen

    Wed 12/07/05 Stockholm, SWE Kagelbanan

    Thu 12/08/05 Oslo, NOR John Dee

    Sat 12/10/05 Hamburg, GER Knust

    Sun 12/11/05 Frankfurt, GER Mousonturm

    Tue 12/13/05 Cologne, GER Prime Club

    Wed 12/14/05 Amsterdam, NET Melkweg

    Thu 12/15/05 Brussels, BEL AB Box @ Ancienne Belgique

    Fri 12/16/05 Paris, FRA La Maroquinerie

    Sat 12/17/05 Den Hauge, NET State X Festival

    Mon 12/19/05 London, UK Cargo

  7. VSTi says:

    What a beautiful song that one from Okkervil River! (I love the whole album)